Tofu Stir Fry Attempt of Sorts

Disclaimer: I am not super great at cooking but I TRY and that has to count for something. I had a meeting this evening, but as I’d done weights earlier today, I wanted to make a proteiny dinner when I got home. I’d just bought all the stuff for tofu stir fry, and since that generally turns out okay, I rolled up my sleeves and set to it.

I went through my fridge and grabbed all the vegetables I thought would work. (Please forgive the iPod photos, they were faster.)

IMG_3318I looked through some instructions for draining tofu, but then I realized before I did anything…

IMG_3319…I needed to do the dishes. So I did the dishes. (So far, this endeavor was taking a lot longer than I’d anticipated.)

IMG_3321I set the tofu to fry (and totally overdid the oil) and set the rice noodles to cook, then chopped all my veggies.

IMG_3322In the process, I ended up overestimated the amount of veggies I needed—which I had previously though impossible—and ended up having to cook more pasta to compensating, resulting in just far too much of everything, which was ridiculous.

IMG_3323I drained my tofu and cooked my veggies, dropping boiling olive oil on my foot in the process (A+ kitchen safety) in addition to making a massive amount of mess…

IMG_3324I almost burned the veggies, then ended up having to pull out a separate pan for the noodles, which had been in a colander so long that they were all stuck together, so I poured an excessive amount of sauce on them in an attempt to fix the problem, then dumped the veggies and tofu in the pasta.

The veggies didn’t cook down enough and as I’d put the sauce in before them, it all soaked into the noodles and didn’t get on the veggies or the tofu, and nothing really mixed—the result looked like this.

IMG_3325I claim no points for presentation. But it tasted alright; not my best work, but hey, it was good for me.

Speaking of good for me, I’m determined to get back on my bedtime schedule after bending it slightly over the past couple days to read and watch Sherlock (I’m so glad it’s back!), so I’m going to head off and get ready for that.

Best wishes,
Hero

8 comments on “Tofu Stir Fry Attempt of Sorts

  1. Julia Byers says:

    Tofu stir fry is my lifeblood. ❤ I want.

  2. Aspirer says:

    Can’t even believe that it’s possible, but we had the exact same dinner, minus the tofu, plus chicken. xD And for the record, that looks delicious. Can I come to your house?

  3. irisvipperman says:

    I discovered Tofu wasn’t entirely horrendous a few years ago and I’m glad I did.
    Also, that doesn’t look bad at all. 😉

    ~ Country Girl’s Daybook, recently posted: #whywemarch http://bit.ly/1aEsJk2

    • Hero says:

      The tofu was the best part of it, to be honest, but I find that anything fried in an inch of olive oil tends to taste good. xD But yeah, I’m a huge tofu fan, and I’m pretty sure everyone who hates it just hasn’t had it.

  4. Wasp says:

    I can’t even begin to describe how many times I’ve done this when it’s lunchtime and I want so badly to pretend that I can cook xD

Leave a Reply

