Ordinary Heroisms: January 6-12

DSCN0884

Just a few things I’m proud of this week.

I drove to a friend’s house and to youth group on my very own, drove well, didn’t break any laws (well, I’ll confess I speed very slightly so I can get through yellow lights), and survived! My first two times driving solo, I’m really happy and feel much more confident with my driving ability.

I’ve exercised twice, made dinner twice, and started to focus on having healthy, protein rich food. I feel happier knowing I’m taking better care of myself.

I went to bed early and got plenty of rest most nights.

I mastered Latin meter and scansion! (Well. I mastered the fundamentals.)

I finished all my homework before my classes this week, which may not sound like a big deal, but coming off of Christmas break and neglecting all of it for three or four weeks? I’m pretty proud of myself.

I have made more time in my day to read.

I have been much more conscientious about my prayer life and have mostly kept up my morning and night prayers. (I didn’t do my usual, longer night prayers last night because I went to the symphony and didn’t get to bed until half-past midnight.)

I got most of my Christmas thank you notes mailed.

I finally got my posters, paintings, and clock up on the walls of my bedroom. 🙂

I made a decent amount of progress on my Latin vocabulary book. I only have six or seven chapters left (which is about 120—150 words, pray for my poor, cramped hand).

I spent a little more (if not enough, but baby steps, baby steps) time with my mom this week, and Dad joined me for part of the match this morning (and what a match, I tell you), but I definitely have a long way to go.

Alright, I’m off to bed—neglecting my French in the process, but I’ll catch up. I’m just exhausted and French can wait until tomorrow, if I stay up to do it I will hate myself in the morning.

Best wishes,
Hero

P.S. I’m also far too tired to figure out how to do a fancy link-up thing at the moment, so either link to your Ordinary Heroisms blog post in the comments, or list your heroisms there directly. 🙂 I look forward to reading about the things you’re proud of this week!

4 comments on “Ordinary Heroisms: January 6-12

  1. Kira Budge says:

    I wish there was a like button for this blog post.

  2. Kira Budge says:

    (One I could use, I mean, as a non-WordPress personage. Because that expresses my feelings about this post. Very like. Much happy. Good job.)

  3. This made me smile. 🙂

    ~ Country Girl’s Daybook
    Recently posted: Where to get really good jeans (and my new favorite sweater). -> http://bit.ly/1haQz8X

Leave a Reply

