December Resolutions

I AM NOT READY FOR YEAR IN REVIEW POSTS YET.

I refuse to acknowledge that it is the end of 2013. I refuse to acknowledge that I graduate in less than six months; five now. I refuse to acknowledge that I’m growing up. I refuse to acknowledge that another year of my life is drawing to a close. I can’t take it.

At the same time, it is December, and I do have some resolutions before 2014 decides to slam me in the face with the unabridged version of Les Misérables and break my nose.

1. Exercise.

Not exactly sure how many times I’ve made this resolution, but I’m actually on track already to keep it. I’ve basically given myself an ultimatum, and I’ve found exercise I like, and it’s going to happen.

2. Finish three books.

I’m currently reading The Screwtape Letters, by C. S. Lewis; I’m hoping to read A Tale of Two Cities, by Charles Dickens over Christmas and to squeeze in The Violent Bear It Away, by Flannery O’Connor in between them. That would be three books by New Year’s Eve, which would bring me to 40 out of the 50 books I wanted to read this year—which, honestly, isn’t bad.

That’s all for me right now; I have to be up early tomorrow for a Latin class and am bracing myself for Liverpool’s match tomorrow… We were completely destroyed on Sunday, I’m not emotionally up for another defeat like that.

Best wishes—and pray for me, please,
Hero

Post script, 12/4/13: Liverpool won, 5-1, in an absolutely incredible match. Suarez is just magnificent. Ack.

7 comments on “December Resolutions

  1. Ooh, ooh, ooh. I LOVE the Screwtape Letters. And Lewis. AND ALL THE THINGS. *cough* (sorry.) I had to read Tale of Two Cities for school a while back, and I couldn’t stand it, though. Maybe I was too young. I was actually thinking about trying my hand (er, eyes) at it again in the near future, but I haven’t gotten around to that yet…

    Prayin’ for ya!

    • Hero says:

      Haha, reminds me of how I felt about Lord of the Rings when I was younger. I still need to get around to those again. xP

      Thank you very much!

  2. Kira Budge says:

    YAY IT’S YOU AGAIN!

    I love the Screwtape Letters. Just saying.

  3. Kira Budge says:

    Also, how the heck did you make your goodreads widget all nice and without that freaking giant title? Mine’s being a butt.

  4. dennis says:

    Hi hero sorry to hear you are frlling a bit off but you are young and you are strong so I am sure you will come through it and feel better and stronger how are youn getting on with your fingering are you mastering it if not, christmas is coming so give it a rest hope you have lots of fun and laughter this chrismas with your friends. Got to admit not praying for you because I know you will be okay but think of you lots have good chrstmas and new year. PS you are so funny you make me smile

    • Hero says:

      Thank you! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoy the blog… You are honestly one of my favorite readers, your comments always make me smile. Thank you for the support and you have a very very happy Christmas, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

