Chums for the Dumps

I’m feeling slightly out of sorts today, but I’m cheering myself up with a big cup of coffee, a week old soft pretzel, the 10th Doctor, and the thought that if I so asked, my friend Josie would pop out of the woodwork and sing the Gaston song for me to make me feel better. (She is the Le Fou to my Gaston and it’s awesome.)

And though I am almost identical to Gaston in every way possible (ha), I do have a penchant for reading that he rather lacks…

This is a rather silly lead-in to a post one of my and Josie’s most gorgeous friends tagged me to do, all about books and reading habits. So without further ado, here we go!

Do you snack while you read? If so, favourite reading snack: Yes; I snack while doing everything. Usually potato chips because they’re easy, or oranges. I love oranges. (I have an unhealthy addiction to oranges. Well, I guess it’s a healthy addiction… Guess who won’t be getting scurvy anytime soon?)
What is your favorite drink while reading? Coffee. During Lent it was tea. But usually it is coffee.
Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the thought of writing in books horrify you? It depends. I mark up & take notes in some of my spiritual books, but usually if something strikes me I write it down elsewhere.
How do you keep your place while reading a book? I actually have a tendency to just shut the book and search for my place when I come back. I’m properly good at it. (Sometimes.)
Fiction, non-fiction, or both? Fiction, generally. Non-fiction can be good, too, but I generally read fiction.
Are you the type of person who tends to read to the end of the chapter, or can you stop anywhere? I usually have to stop anywhere, because I don’t have time to read a chapter to its conclusion. (I read in bits and pieces because of my lack of free time.) I’ve been on chapter 17 of Out of the Silent Planet for about a week now.
Are the type of person to throw a book across the room or onto the floor if the author irritates you? Yes. Cue me at the end of Inheritance.
If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you look it up right away? If I’m on my nook, yes, because then I don’t really have to put the book down. Otherwise I just get around it by context and move on.
What are you currently reading? Out of the Silent Planet, by C.S. Lewis. I’m almost finished – debating whether I should move on directly to the next book in the series or leave it alone.
What is the last book you bought? I bought a bunch of books at Goodwill, including The Pilgrim’s Progress and Murder on the Orient Express. My mom just bought me The Dialogue of Saint Catherine of Siena, if that counts.

Do you have a favorite time/place to read? Basically whenever I have time!

Do you prefer series books or stand alones? If it’s well written, I don’t care. I prefer to write stand alones because I’m lazy, but I’ll read whichever with no preference.

Is there a specific book you find yourself recommending over and over? The Great Gatsby, lol. I recommend the Books of Bayern a lot, and the Leviathan series. I love that series.

How do you organize your books? My books are organized on my shelf by the last name of the author. 🙂

I guess the overarching point of this post was for me to say that the ultimate chums when you’re down in the dumps is a good book. And Doctor Who. If any of you want to do this, feel free! You don’t have to link back to me or anything. As for being tag-errifically annoying, I’m going to dramatically point at Raewyn from My Spare Oom!

Thanks for reading!
Hero

11 comments on “Chums for the Dumps

  1. Erin says:

    Paolini makes me angry…

    Also, there’s just something about drinking coffee while you’re reading. It makes the story a whole lot better.

  2. I felt the need to continue my obnoxiousness regarding this situation, but I’ve churned out like 8600 words in just over two days, so I’ve lost the ability to socialize with people, even obnoxiously.

    So I’ll just run in circles and quack like duck and continue to post life stories in your Tumblr ask box. 😉

  3. Kira says:

    I love this post so much. Can I borrow these questions for a post sometime on my blog?
    Also, I find it amusing that Inheritance angered you, because I had given up on the series up until that book. That book redeemed it for me, haha.

  4. Aspirer says:

    Well done, Hero, dear. 🙂 Loved it… but not as much as I love you. 😉 ♥

  5. nevillegirl says:

    I didn’t last until Inheritance. I started throwing those books across the room when I was only on the second. 🙂

  6. Ally says:

    The Le Fou to your Gaston. Brilliant.

    Reblogged the survey over here: http://charlieandmewrite.blogspot.com/2013/04/reading-sober.html

  7. […] questionnaire was originally posted by Hero @ Heroic Endeavors but I found it on Kelli’s blog, She Learns As She Goes.  I love quizes & questionnaires […]

  8. […] sure to check out the delightful blog where I found this survey Happy […]

  9. […] Bekka completed the A-Z bookish survey a while back.  I jumped on it, started the survey, then discovered I already did it in January, and I do it at the start of the year, each year.  Since I am still set on this path, I found another survey regarding reading habits from Heroic Endeavors. […]

  10. […] time, but I found a new bookish survey I want to do, so survey time it is! I got this one from Heroic Endeavors (via someone else I can’t […]

Leave a Reply

