Lenten Pretzels & the Wrapping of the March Resolutions

[Written on Holy Saturday.]

So tomorrow Lent ends – tonight for me, as I’m going to Vigil Mass. I’m excited – I’ve never been to Vigil before and I know it’s beautiful. I’m not going to lie to you guys; Lent was hard this year. Like, really hard. I messed up my resolutions a lot.

A lot a lot a lot.

The other day in the car, Essie and Morgann and I were talking about how we thought we’d done. Essie said, slightly peeved, “I am so sick of Lent.” I think Morgann hit her (not sure) and said, “You terrible person!” I laughed at them from the front seat – “If you’re not sick of Lent, you’re doing it wrong.” Seriously. Essie followed with a rather apt remark: “One day I will be holy enough to not hate this whole season,” Easter excepted, of course. Everybody loves Easter. (I will be spending it with the biggest cup of coffee I can make.)

One of the things that I actually really liked this Lent was the amount of free time I had when I shut the computer away and limited my time. I did a bunch of things I ordinarily wouldn’t have time to do: play the piano, cook, knit, read, go for bike rides, write… It was really nice, and I’m thinking of cutting down even after Lent ends.

On Wednesday (and again just now) I made Lenten soft pretzels. Pretzels are representative for Lent because they remind us of the prayer posture of early Christians and are a simple food we can eat in place of a meal when we’re fasting. (Think of that when you grab an Auntie Anne’s at the mall.)

DSCN0456

I used a recipe from A Continual Feast, by Evelyn Birge Vitz – but it can be found online here.

DSCN0461

 

They are delicious and super nifty… I have a really good time making them. 🙂 If you make some, leave a comment and let me know how they turned out!

Now, to the wrapping of March goals. I set two goals for March: go outside and keep my room clean.

Go outside: A! I hauled my sorry white person self outside and it’s not so bad… 😛 The sun and I have an agreement now.

Room clean: B. I did keep my room clean for a good while – but last week got away from me and it’s a little cluttered now. Not so bad as it usually is, though, so huzzah! Success! (Ish.)

[Written todayyyy!]

So HAPPY EASTER, my loves! Easter is one of the best days of the year. Last night my family went to Vigil Mass – my mom’s students were baptized (YAY new Catholics!) and my friend’s brother’s fiancé was brought into full communion (YAY NEW CATHOLICS!) and then Jesus came back. He came back, you guys. When they lit the red candle behind the tabernacle I just burst into tears. I don’t like it when He’s gone, not at all. It throws me off, confuses me.

Then when we got home from Vigil, my brother and I watched the new Doctor Who episode – I really really love Oswin Clara (I like the name Clara, but I always always always want to call her Oswin… Is that allowed? :P). I wasn’t disappointed… I’m always worried with Matt Smith episodes.

And then this morning… COFFEE! IT TASTES LIKE HEAVEN. MOMMY BOUGHT ME SPECIAL CREAMER AND IT WAS AMAZING.

So, yes. JESUS, DOCTOR WHO, AND COFFEE. BEST EASTER EVER!

CHRIST THE LORD IS RISEN TODAYYYY AAAaaAAAaaaAAAAALLEEEEELUUUUUIIIIIIIAAAAAAA! *dances about*

I LOVE YOU. ALL OF YOU. THANK YOU FOR READING MY BLOG AND BEING LOVELY AND AMAZING. ❤

xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Hero

9 comments on “Lenten Pretzels & the Wrapping of the March Resolutions

  1. Andrea says:

    EASTER IS AMAZING. And yes, the Vigil Mass is awesome…I love it when all the candles are lit, and there are no icky lights on. 😀

  2. Julia Byers says:

    Oh my gosh, those pretzels look delicious. I want I want I want.

    HAPPY EASTER! 😀

  3. I love Easter, and I loooovvvee the Vigil Mass. It is so beautiful and I feel so happy for the people being baptized in the Catholic Faith, and it is just SO amazing.

    Coffee is very yummy. 😀

  4. Frenchorange says:

    Have you ever gone to the Good Friday mass? It feels chilling and humbling at the same time.
    You can hear all the people there, and you get the sense that you all are one. During the Adoration of the Cross, you kiss the Cross, I I swore I felt something when I did. It’s amazing how I felt during the rest of the Mass. I can’t explain it with words. You feel like you aren’t just one of God’s children, you feel like you are God’s child, if that makes any sense.
    Easter Vigil is wonderful. Sadly I didn’t go this year because I had to sing in the choir in the morning, but I’ve loved going before.
    These special last three days are what have binded us as a family in God. It fills us with awe. Did you feel the same way during the Vigil?

    -Frenchie

    • Hero says:

      Oh, definitely. I always want to cry during Good Friday Mass – and Easter is always just so so amazing.

      • Frenchorange says:

        I know. When my school does stations of the cross, I feel really bad about all the times I’ve sinned because I remember that I just add to the weight that was on his shoulders, and that he could have escaped his fate, but he suffered just to save us. Then the Easter Mass fills me with elation because I remember that it wasn’t in vain and he rose again.

  5. Aspirer says:

    I’m so happy for you, Hero. 🙂 Happy Easter! Jesus and coffee and Doctor Who… yes. xD

  6. themagicviolinist says:

    O.O Whoa, with the caps lock. I think you’ve had too much coffee.

    THOSE PRETZELS LOOK AMAZING!!!!

    Happy Easter! 😀

Leave a Reply

