February Report Card & March Resolutions

Good evening, my friends. I have saved just enough time online to write you guys a post tonight. Eggplant parmesan is in the oven, homework is sitting neglected to my right, and Frank Sinatra is crooning over the sound system… The door is open because the weather’s nice (well, now it’s closed because Mom just shut the dog out, but just pretend my house is tranquil, wouldja?) and I’m just sleepy enough to be at ease instead of cranky.

All right, I’m running out of time with this ridiculous blithering… It’s time for the dreaded report card.

1. Do something worthwhile.
Grade: B

I don’t give myself an A in this because while I did a lot of good things, I still spent too much time on the internet. (I have learned to ignore my screensaver, so that didn’t work…) But I have cut down, especially since the start of Lent, and I’ve filled it instead with reading, knitting, and all that schoolwork I like to ignore.

2. Be more charitable.
Grade: A-

I caught myself a couple times being a grumpy old judge-a-pus, and have been making an effort to be kinder. This morning my brother and I had this exchange that kind of captures my inner turmoil on this resolution.

Me: Did you cut holes in your sweatshirt?
Him: There was already a hole, so I cut more so I could put my fingers in.
Me: *raises eyebrows*
Him: Did you paint your nails with white-out?
Me: No! It’s just white nail polish. It’s modish. And at least it’s not sweatshirt vandalization.
*pause*
*pause*
Me: I’m sorry. Your sweatshirt looks cool. It’s neat what you did with the sleeves.
Him: And your nails are cool. Or pretty. They’re pretty cool.

Basically, I’ll say something rude without thinking and then backpedal because I realize it was uncalled for. It’s a work in progress.

3. Get more sleep.
Grade: B

I’ve found myself making the effort to go to sleep earlier, but I did pull some late-nighters this month. Therefore, B.

Out with the old & in with the new! Onto the March resolutions!

My March resolutions are rather simple, I’m afraid.

1. Spend time outside.

The weather is lovely right now and I spend entirely too much time on my bum inside. I need to go outside sometimes; get some fresh air and the like. I want to start a vegetable garden, but we’ll see what happens. My parents have a bunch of other projects on their hands right now. 😉

2. Keep my room clean.

Enough said, probably.

Well, that’s all for me tonight, folks. My books came! And I’m about a hundred-fifty pages off the end of Les Misérables – unfortunately, I have some tidying and history work to get to tonight, so it might be a while before I get to read as much as I wish. (I need summer! :()

Best wishes!
Hero

ETA: Contest winner announced momentarily!

4 comments on “February Report Card & March Resolutions

  1. Julia Byers says:

    So jealous of your weather–right now it’s alternating between freezing rain and snow here. Good luck with your March resolutions! 🙂 (I just almost wrote “revolutions.” Too much Les Mis, I swear.)

Leave a Reply

