Shakespeare and Sparks

One of my favorite things in life to do is make up excuses to read Shakespeare. Such an opportunity has arisen in the form of my 11th grade history course. After spending entirely way too much time on the Government of Spanish Aragon and Castile-Leon (respectively) (also, snooze), we’re finally moving to a topic that I really, really like.

THE WAR OF THE ROSES! YORKS! LANCASTERS! PEOPLE GET KILLED! BETRAYAL! GOOD MEN IN ENGLAND WHO DO NO WORK TODAY! AND THE LIKE!

Also, Richard III. Yessssss.

Anyway, as I was doing my reading assignment last week and come across all these historical figures that are featured so prominently in Shakespeare’s plays, I got a really strong urge to read the corresponding plays to our history text.

I mentioned this idea in my class, and I got a couple of the other girls on board. So we’re going to do it. I am crazy excited, and making this post in case any of you wanted to read along with us!

Over the month of February, we’ll be reading the Henriad (Richard II, Henry IV [parts 1 & 2], and Henry V), and then concluding with Richard III, as he is going to be a main discussion point in our history class. We’ll be doing Skype calls while we have class off to read this beautiful beast and discussing the various plays, comparing Shakespeare’s portrayals of the characters to the versions in our history text, going over our favorite parts, theorizing about subtext…

EEP! Is it okay for me to fangirl a little? I’m crazy excited.

Of course, I have to do something silly to counteract my intellectual spree… Unintentionally, I assure, but I realized that there is something funny in the fact that I’m reading a plethora of Shakespeare at the same time as a… Nicholas… Sparks… novel…

Please don’t kill me. It’s A Walk to Remember and it was recommended to me by Frankie and Lauren so if it is terrible and brings shame upon me IT IS THEIR FAULT. 

As you may have guessed, I’m having to put aside Les Misérables until I get all this school reading done. The one reason I’m reading the Sparks novel is because I nabbed it from the library and have a deadline for that.

Speaking of, the stack of books is calling my name. If you want to read along with us, we’re reading a play a week, starting today with Richard II. 🙂

Happy reading!
Hero

One comment on “Shakespeare and Sparks

  1. Kira says:

    You are so silly, Hero. =)

Leave a Reply

