Save ALL the babies!

Disclaimer: I’m emotionally volatile today. Perhaps this post can explain why.

Today in Washington D.C., an estimated 500,000 people have gathered to defend the rights of those who cannot defend themselves: the unborn.

Since Roe v. Wade was passed 40 years ago in 1973, 55 million unborn children have been ripped from their mothers’ wombs. That’s 55 million babies killed. One third of my generation is missing because of abortion. That’s completely unacceptable.

As I write this, the March for Life is going on. In addition to being an awesome witness for the strength and the resolve of the pro-life community, the March for Life also happens to be a magical event where almost all of my best school friends from all over the country come together – not only to march, but also for a dance, and lots of fun times being doofuses at the hotel… Most importantly, they’re together.

I’m in the peculiar situation of having some of my closest friends being miles and miles away. I’ve never met any of them. Because my homeschool curriculum has classes online and a community of students that exists on the internet, you find it possible – through the wonders of email, Skype, and cell-phones – to cultivate meaningful friendships without seeing the other person face to face.

This is awesome, but it has its drawbacks. Drawback number one? Not seeing them face to face. The main reason I feel so sad today is because so many of my friends are in D.C. together this weekend – not only did Morgann fly up on Wednesday, but two of the sweetest, greatest girls ever are there, some of my fellow moderators on our forum as well as a plethora of our members; and lest I forget, the greatest, most infuriating guy of all time – Nick. I never thought I’d say this, but I am supremely disappointed that he’s not getting to make fun of my ice cream addiction IRL.

I think the worst thing is that I almost got to go. I was so close; but even though I am first and foremost a Catholic and the pro-life cause is so important, I do have a responsibility and have made a commitment to my orchestra. Our next concert is next week and I couldn’t miss our rehearsal to go to the March. I know now, as this week is playing out, that I made the right decision in not going, but that doesn’t make me miss my friends any less.

Still, I am turning out to support life. Tomorrow I’m heading up to the rally here in my state with the usual gang. My brother and I have made posters (they’re Doctor Who themed, because we’re nerds). I’m excited – we always have a blast on the bus ride up and we’re headed to a party afterward, so that’s even better.

Photo on 1-25-13 at 3.10 PM

(My brother’s)
Photo on 1-25-13 at 3.11 PM

(Mine)

As exciting and compelling as the various marches and rallies are, they are still a hugely sad event. Thinking about it has been the second reason why I keep bursting into tears today. We’re fighting because there’s a genocide sweeping our nation and our world. We’re murdering millions of innocents – the most innocent creature there is: an unborn child who cannot survive outside the womb – and it’s totally legal. I just don’t understand how the heck that’s okay. I really don’t.

I leave you with a few quotes:

“To assert that a human being is only present once a specific anatomic landmark has been achieved is absurd. The argument is analogous to pointing at a construction site where the foundation has been dug but no concrete yet has been poured, and asserting, “Clearly there is no building company involved in this, because there isn’t yet a structure sufficient to be called a ‘building.’ We must wait until at least six stories have been completed.” This argument confuses the product of construction with the existence of an agent capable of doing the construction. If we must wait until a certain level of structure exists before we conclude a builder/contractor is present, how do we explain all of the many orderly events that occur prior to this point? Does the organized assembly of concrete, girders, glass, wire, pipes, and countless other components just happen spontaneously?

Analogously, does a collection of human cells just so happen to put together eyes, fingers, internal organs, and countless other structures in a coherent, integrated manner, and then wait for “consciousness” to breathe life into this amalgam of random parts? Clearly, this is an argument that cannot be rationally maintained in the face of factual evidence.”

– The Science and Politics of Personhood

“Lord Jesus,

You who faithfully visit and fulfill with your Presence the Church and the history of men; You who in the miraculous Sacrament of your Body and Blood render us participants in divine Life and allow us a foretaste of the joy of eternal Life; We adore and bless you.

Prostrated before You, source and lover of Life, truly present and alive among us, we beg you.

Reawaken in us respect for every unborn life, make us capable of seeing in the fruit of the maternal womb the miraculous work of the Creator, open our hearts to generously welcoming every child that comes into life.

Bless all families, sanctify the union of spouses, render fruitful their love.

Accompany the choices of legislative assemblies with the light of your Spirit,so that peoples and nations may recognize and respect the sacred nature of life, of every human life.

Guide the work of scientists and doctors, so that all progress contributes to the integral well-being of the person, and no one endures suppression or injustice.

Give creative charity to administrators and economists, so they may realize and promote sufficient conditions so that young families can serenely embrace the birth of new children.

Console the married couples who suffer because they are unable to have children and in Your goodness provide for them.

Teach us all to care for orphaned or abandoned children, so they may experience the warmth of your Charity, the consolation of your divine Heart.

Together with Mary, Your Mother, the great believer, in whose womb you took on our human nature, we wait to receive from You, our Only True Good and Savior, the strength to love and serve life, in anticipation of living forever in You, in communion with the Blessed Trinity.”

– Pope Benedict XVI’s Prayer for the Unborn

Also, you should read this.

Love and prayers go out to all of you in D.C. today. To my friends who are there, I miss you so much and it breaks my heart that I’m not with you.

Best wishes,
Hero

9 comments on “Save ALL the babies!

  1. Nick W. says:

    I truly enjoyed reading this post, and definitely not because I’m in it. We will meet eventually; that I promise.

    • Hero says:

      Did anybody manage to give you a hug from me? I’m going to be seriously peeved if they didn’t.

      • Nick W. says:

        No…… Please don’t be peeved. I was swarmed with people saying “Hi from Hero,” so please don’t worry about it. I would’ve been smothered had your plans been carried out to the letter.

  2. kittipurrik says:

    Ugh. Abortion is sickening. I was reading what Rush Limbaugh had to say on it the other day in his book “The Way It Ought To Be”. He had proved that not only is this immoral thing perfectly acceptable, but the prochoice people are often not prochoice at all. Why would they protest people outside abortion clinics trying to convince the mothers to come have the baby and be helped? Because they get money- why would they oppose the abortion pill at first? obviously they came to realize that it was against what they claimed to be for and supported it, but they don’t make money off that as much if it can just be done at home.
    So somehow these people ENJOY killing babies?
    ugh. ughughugh.

    • Hero says:

      Right? I agree.

      For example, in my state we have several laws requiring women to have an ultrasound and to talk to the abortionist about the procedure and the risks before they have an abortion. Planned Parenthood sued and fought these laws, and the pro-choice movement got their panties in a huge wad – which confuses me GREATLY.

      Look, the pro-choicers are all about women’s empowerment, right? And a woman having a right to control her own body and make her own decisions? So why would they be against a woman being informed? Why would they be against a woman having to know the medical risks and know about the process of an abortion? Why would they oppose her seeing the baby before she makes the decision, rather than having wool pulled over her eyes and being rushed off to make the biggest mistake of her life?

      Doesn’t a woman have a right to know? Of all people, I think the pro-choice movement would be all for a woman being intelligent, informed, knowing the risks, etc.

      But they fight that. Why? Because it changes so many women’s minds. So many women see their baby on an ultrasound and change their minds. So many women understand what’s actually going to happen when they get an abortion, and they change their minds.

      It’s such a ridiculous double standard.

  3. Frenchorange says:

    Thank you for this wonderful post. It was a huge reminder of all the peace-makers that could have lived. You reminded me that even if a person can’t walk or talk or even see yet, it doesn’t mean that they are unimportant. It only means they haven’t reached their true potential. You reminded me that life, in all its different forms, is a beautiful and spectacular miracle. Most of all, you reminded me that we are strong in number, and that we can rise up to face this awful event of killing. I have a quote you might like.

    “Thou shalt not kill.” – The Bible

    These abortions are against the law of God, and of all other religions (I hope). Though you are one person, you have given every unborn child a step closer to life. For that I thank you.

    Sincerely,
    Frenchorange

    P.S. Nice posters!

    P.P.S Your post made me cry with tears of joy and sadness. I’m not joking.

    • Hero says:

      Oh my goodness. Thank you so much for your wonderful words of encouragement and support. I just… I have no words for how much this comment means to me. Thank you. Thank you.

      I pray that one day people will recognize that all life is precious. Until that day comes, I will do everything I can to save lives. We stand together. 🙂

  4. Erin says:

    Wonderful post Hero! Even though I only know you through blogging, it would have been awesome if you could have marched along with me and the other 500,000 or so people to protest against this sickening crime. I truly hope that everyone marching and also everyone praying along changed the hearts of many mothers considering abortion. Even if we only saved one baby, all our sacrifices and prayers were definitely worth it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

