December Resolutions (also, 99th post?)

Why, hello there. Long time no see. That’s my fault, of course, and I’ll admit it with only a little bit of shame. I could sit here and complain and make excuses, but frankly, I don’t have time for that right now – so just assume the usual excuses and let’s get on with things, shall we?

December Resolutions

I can’t believe it’s December already. This year just blew by, and now I’m singing Christmas carols and knitting like a madwoman to get all my friends gifts (dropped $65 on yarn the other day – so much for saving money by making things, right? Oh well) and sometimes I just feel like I want to stop life and just… freeze. HOLD EVERYTHING. Take this one moment right now and just live in it. I am happy and feel so blessed. The Christmas lights are up and – you know, strike that. Let’s live in a moment about two weeks from now, during Christmas break. 😉

That being said, Advent is waiting for something, and stopping Advent and living in this one moment means Christmas never comes. And so I am reminded once again that the train of life chugs onward for good reason.

Resolution #1: Finish most of my Christmas gifts on time.

I’m knitting something for basically all of my friends this year – I’ve “finished” four things (I still need to seam and sew in ends and add finishing touches) and have four left. I’m hoping to get at least most of them finished before Christmas – Essie’s given me permission to give them to her late because I’m going out of my mind trying to knit a million things before Christmas.

Resolution #2: Be a little more organized.

Basically, keeping my room clean, bed made, getting up at a reasonable hour and prioritizing things. Practicing my cello before I sit on Skype for hours. Writing that religion paper (oops) before going off to read Romeo and Juliet (which I haven’t really had a lot of time for, either).

Resolution #3: Work on SAT math.

I got my SAT scores back – and I got the exact same score in math that I did last year. It’s ridiculous. Something’s gotta give. So I need to study and work and run practice tests… Anything to boost my score. The only way is up!

Resolution #4: Remember the whole point of Christmas.

Or, rather, don’t forget it. It’s easy to get wrapped up in the material, but my main goal this month is to remember what Christmas is really about and not lose myself in the frantic rush of presents and Michael Bublé’s version of Jingle Bells. Keep the Christ in Christmas, as the bumper stickers say. 🙂

Quick plug for my friends Julia and Kira – they’ve been nominated for a blogging award and it would be super awesome if you could kind of go and second the nominations. 😛 You can only nominate one, so here are the links to their blogs:

Julia’s
Kira’s

Now you must make the impossible choice. 😉 And keep your eyes out for the voting, as I’m sure they’ll needs votes as well.

As always, resolutions come from the lovely Kelli at She Learns As She Goes.

Thanks for reading! Up next, 100th post! 😀

~Hero

6 comments on “December Resolutions (also, 99th post?)

  1. Julia Byers says:

    YES NEW BLOG POST WHOO! 😀 And gracias for the plug, hermana. 🙂 YOU KNIT THOSE THINGS!

  2. Morgann says:

    I’m with Julia, FIANLLY A POST!!!! 😀
    Good luck with your resolutions!!!
    ~Morgann

  3. Kira says:

    Awwwwww, thanks for mentioning us. =)

  4. SilentMelodies says:

    Good luck with your goals! Have a Merry Christmas! (Or Happy Holidays, if you’re that kind of person. 😉 )

Leave a Reply

