Someday My Prince Will Come

But not before the promised Snow White post. 😛

A few orders of business before I get on with it.

  1. I forgot to link to John Green’s Great Gatsby videos last post, so here you go:
  2. If anyone is interested, I’ve compiled my entire Great Gatsby analysis into a PDF that y’all can download for future reference or whatever you’d like to use it for (I will be so flattered if it helps you in understanding the book and writing a paper on it; however, I will the complete opposite of flattered if you copy and paste sections from it into said paper… That is plagiarism and it is highly frowned upon. Also, this analysis is so badly organized that you will flunk if you try to submit it as a paper. So don’t even try. Thanks.) Click here for the PDF: Gatsby
  3. I’m getting my wisdom teeth out on Tuesday, so I most likely won’t be able to blog. Also, prayers that it all goes well would be more than appreciated.

So, in the last few days, I’ve watched more than half of the first season of Once Upon a Time. I’m in love with the show, and my absolute favorite character is Mary Margaret (Snow White). She’s adorable, and it’s kind of impossible not to love her.

I especially love her style. It’s very classy, sort of vintage and modern at the same time, with lots of sweaters, and Peter Pan collars, and crocheted berets. I’m going to put together three outfits based on three of her outfits from the show.

Outfit #1: 7:15 A.M.

I’m having a really hard time finding screenshots of Mary Margaret, and I failed at taking some myself, so I’m going to just cite the episode each outfit is from, and then when you inevitably go watch the series, you can see the example.

My first outfit comes from Season 1, Episode 10 – 7:15 A.M. At the beginning of the episode, Mary Margaret wears this outfit to stop at the cafe to catch a glimpse of David.

Blazer, Blouse, Scarf, Jeans, Boots, Tam

I love the blazer in this outfit: it’s fitted with elbow patches, a style I’ve always loved. (My very first orchestra conductor used to always wear a tattered navy blue blazer with dark leather elbow patches.) A bright red polka dot blouse pops from underneath, and a blue-green loop scarf acts as a mediator between the two. Dark leather jeans are tucked into black riding boots (in the episode, she wears rain boots, but I feel like riding boots make the outfit a little more day to day). A taupe beret (I found a knitting pattern exactly replicating Mary Margaret’s from the show) tops off the outfit. 🙂

Outfit #2: Whistle While You Work

This outfit comes from from Season 1, Episode 16 – inspired by Mary Margaret in her original persona back in the fairy tale land: Snow White. Obviously, this isn’t an exact representation, but I’ve complied a modernization of it in keeping with Mary Margaret’s style.

Sweater, Skirt, Belt, Bow, Tights, Shoes

The cream sweater layered over the skirt and belted with the mustard yellow belt, worn over berry red tights. Mustard yellow pumps and a classic Snow White red bow complete the look.

Outfit #3: Lesson Plan

Actually have a picture for this one:

This is from Season 1, Episode 6: The Shepherd (one of David’s first episodes).

Dress, Cardigan, Knee Socks, Watch, Shoes

This one is my favorite, I think. I sort of guessed at the outfit from the leg down (I don’t think you ever seen this one in full), but it seems like something Mary Margaret would wear. I love the shoes and the knee socks and the cardigan and the dress… Basically everything. (If only I could afford it! :P)

Well, that’s it for me tonight! I’m off to read some more of Brave New World (which is turning out to be really scary aghhh) and then head to bed. I’m up bright and early tomorrow morning because I’m getting anointed before Mass. 🙂

Leave your thoughts in the comments! Kira, I hope this was less depressing than all my Gatsby posts. (Also, since I promised I would say this: KIRA LOOKS EXACTLY LIKE MARY MARGARET EXCEPT WITH BLONDE HAIR IT’S AMAZING SHE IS SO GORGEOUSSSSSS.)

G’night, my darlings!

~Hero

2 comments on “Someday My Prince Will Come

  1. Julia Byers says:

    I want the blue polka dot dress. Why don’t I have moneyyyy.

  2. Kira says:

    Hahahahaha! Oh, thanks, Hero. =)

Leave a Reply

