A Change in the Weather

Okay, more like a change in the schedule. When I started this blog, I only had classes on Mondays and Tuesdays, leaving Wednesdays completely free.

Now I have classes on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays, so it’s really hard for me to blog on Wednesdays. Do not fret, however! This is good news, because I’m now going to start blogging on Tuesdays AND Fridays, as well as my usual Sunday post. 🙂

Also, I apologize for all the Great Gatsby posts. I’ve been really lazy about blogging recently and as a result have been really boring. But never fear! Today is my last Gatsby post! 🙂 On Sunday I’m going to do another fashion post – I’ve been watching a lot of Once Upon a Time and I want to do a piece inspired by Mary Margaret (Snow White).

Anyway, here’s the last of the Gatsby. 🙂

Continuing the discussion of reliving the past:

I’d like to point out Daisy’s daughter here, in the scene at the Buchanan’s house before all the crap hits the fan. Daisy talks about how she doesn’t look like Tom, tries to convince herself that the child is solely hers – and then the girl asks, “Where’s Daddy?” This is where it really hit me – and I think Gatsby, too – that Tom Buchanan cannot be done away with just like that. Daisy’s daughter doesn’t want or care about Gatsby, she wants her father, and Gatsby will never be able to replace him – obliterate him and take his place. He can’t – it’s not possible – and I feel that in that moment, Gatsby starts to understand things. In that moment, things turn south.

There’s one last thing I’d like to mention before I finally close the book. I was watching John Green’s videos about the Great Gatsby (which I will link to at the end of this post), and he says, “You might have noticed that life isn’t fair and sometimes bad people don’t get what’s coming to them.” He goes on to say that wealth and social standing decrease the probability of getting what’s coming to you. I initially saw this video before I read the Great Gatsby, so that idea was in my head through the whole book. I was trying to figure out who and what John was talking about, and I was stumped until I looked over the final chapter again. I could be wrong here, but I’m pretty sure he’s talking about Tom Buchanan. I get this impression from the way Nick describes him at the end of it all.

Tom confesses to telling Wilson that the car that killed Myrtle belonged to Gatsby. He says, “What if I did tell him? He threw dust into your eyes just like he did in Daisy’s but he was a tough one. He ran over Myrtle like you’d run over a dog and never even stopped his car.” He goes on to talk about how he suffered, too, how it was all so awful for him… That’s the thing. Tom is always the victim. He screws over everyone else, but he’s still the victim here. Myrtle gets hit and killed – he’s the victim. Daisy’s life is an atrocity and she tries to escape it… Well, it certainly wasn’t his fault and gosh darn it if he’s not suffering too… How dare you think otherwise?

He feels completely justified in causing a man to be reduced to shambles and eventually commit suicide because of his and Daisy’s mistakes.

Myrtle ran out to the car because she thought it was Tom’s car – she thought she was running to him. Tom thinks Gatsby’s a monster for hitting her, when really it was his own wife who killed it was his own wife who killed Myrtle, and really, it’s Tom’s fault she’s dead. He knows Wilson is going to shoot Gatsby if he tells him that it’s Gatsby’s car and he doesn’t care: he tells him and says Gatsby had it coming.

What exactly did Gatsby do wrong? He loved a woman with too high of expectations and he dreamed impossible dreams that blew up in his face. I don’t think that’s something deserving of being shot over.

In a fair, eye-for-an-eye world, Wilson would have killed Tom. But no, Tom is the victim in all this – he’s the one in the most pain here, and it’s all everyone else’s fault.

“They were careless people, Tom and Daisy – they smashed up things and creatures and then retreated back into their money or their vast carelessness or whatever it was that kept them together, and let other people clean up the mess they had made…”

And with that, I cap my pen.

~Hero

2 comments on “A Change in the Weather

  1. Kira says:

    Again. Depressing.
    HAHA, are you going to talk about how Snow White looks like me? 😉

Leave a Reply

