Bonus Post: Homework

I just finished the Great Gatsby and want to do a post on it as soon as I’ve formulated my thoughts into coherent sentences and not just fangirlish fragments…

Exhibit a: last night’s Skype logs.

Me: NO NO GATSBY IT ISN’T!!!! *muffles herself*

Josie: XD You are nothing compared to Megan in fangirling.

Me: Sorry, give me two seconds to focus intently and explode and cry everywhere and throw up.
And I’ll come back in a minute.

Josie: ok. Make sure to not die.

Me: OH GOSH NO

Josie: XD

Me: THE PRECIOUS THINGS
I KNEW IT
AGH

Josie: lol

Me: WHAT KIND OF LINE IS THIS {insert spoilerific line here}
WHAT THE

Josie: you’re kinda

Me: AHIJSAGSJHOAGSHJADGSJHKLAGSDHJKL

Josie: exploding there

…and so on. But I’m slowly gathering myself.

However, it’s completely uninteresting to listen to someone else talk about a book you’ve never read, and my analysis is going to be chock full of spoilers, so my assignment for you is to go read The Great Gatsby. It’s available online but I’m not going to link you because I don’t advocate piracy — go get it from the library or better yet BUY IT because it’s one of those books you’ll want to own, if you don’t already. While you read, pay attention to the COLORS. They’re all important. The green, the yellow, the white… Just pay attention. Then meet me back here on Wednesday and we’ll talk about it. Sound good? 🙂

x
Hero

5 comments on “Bonus Post: Homework

  1. Julia Byers says:

    Yayyy, you finished!

  2. Temitope.A says:

    I’ve just read it! I’ve written a review on my blog :p. Well, maybe it’s not a review, I’m sort of an amateur in this.

    • Hero says:

      I will definitely check it out! I spent a long time writing out my thoughts in my journal — I’m probably overanalyzing all of it but I’m enjoying myself, so…. 😉

      • Temitope.A says:

        But, talking about piracy, isn’t T G G already out of “copywright”? (I don’t know the specific term)

        • Hero says:

          I’m not sure. The copy I glanced at online mentioned something about being up because The Great Gatsby is out of print in Australia or something and to check the laws in your country before downloading.

          It’s not so much that I’m against piracy, either… I feel like we should spend money on good things instead of getting them for free and spending money on not good things… Like Fifty Shades of Grey or Twilight. If everybody went out and bought the Great Gatsby instead, maybe we could change the culture a little. 😉

Leave a Reply

