BEDA Day 17: The Final Installment

Part 1
Part 2

I’m pretty much sick of talking about art camp, so I’m wrapping things up here. To tie off any loose ends, I’m gonna show you my artwork and then mention that boy who I said would become relevant and maybe some other things, depending on how I feel at the end of this post. 😉

That’s a photo of my little gallery at our exposition. I may post close ups of these if you guys want me to. In the top right corner is an arcimboldo – the technique is to arrange fruits and vegetables into a face and then paint the fruit/vegetables. Mine isn’t the best, but here’s an example of an original Arcimboldo.

Next to that is a mask I did that was supposed to represent opposites – I did night and day, obviously, but I wish I’d done happy and sad instead. Next to the mask is a felted piece – Counting Sheep. Next to thaaaaat is a mandala – I really enjoyed making that. You create and circular symmetrical design (the mandala) and do each quadrant of it in a different sort of media – I used colored paper, metallic paper, watercolor, chalk, acrylic paints, and metallic markers.

(Note: I just went to go find the mandala and photograph it for you, but it has apparently been packed. Here’s a real mandala for your enjoyment instead. It’s not multi-media, obviously.)

Underneath the mandala is my masterpiece from the week. On Wednesday we were instructed to grab some paint and do a 16×20 canvas painting in three hours. I grabbed every tube of blue acrylic paint in the classroom, waltzed up to Miss Pam and said, “I want to do a Modigliani/Picasso cross in monochromatic blue.” She laughed for an inordinate amount of time before congratulating me on my death wish.

As you can see, I’m still alive, and the painting turned out well – though Picasso didn’t show up as much as I’d originally intended. Because I painted her entirely blue, blue sort of became a running joke about me during camp – if somebody couldn’t find the tube of blue, everyone would shout to go ask me if I had it; my friends would randomly start singing “I’m blue, da ba dee, da ba di,” just to tease me, and if I said, “Guess what color I’m using?” the whole room would respond, “BLUE.”

So to prove everyone wrong, I painted the painting of the sunset/ocean/hill whatever. Without any blue. At all. It was hard – I shouted about the orange wanting to stab me with a knife for about half an hour… In fairness, I may have had a concussion. But seriously, that painting brought out the crazy artist in me. I went insane.

And then the last piece is some weaving. Obviously.

Okay, before I sign off here, I’ll mention the relevant boy. So, this week at camp was strange for me in that I was outside of my bubble. Almost all of my friends are Catholic/homeschooled/pretty much share the same worldview as I do. This was my first time completely outside of that circle while old enough to actually realize it and experience it. What am I building up to? Basically: during art camp I got asked out for the first time in my entire life.

Sheltered? Maybe.

I had to turn him down, because I don’t date and lots of other complicated reasons (also, I don’t really subscribe to society’s view of dating – I don’t understand how you can like someone enough to want to go out with them without knowing really ANYTHING about them).

Anyway, I’m off to bed. If you have any questions about camp or whatever, or if you want to see some close ups of paintings, say so in the comments. Your wish is my command! 🙂

~Hero

One comment on “BEDA Day 17: The Final Installment

  1. Julia Byers says:

    I still can’t get over how much I adore your blue painting! It (and everything else here) is SO GOOD, Hero. So good. I’m seriously jealous of your artistic skills. (Remember that time I drew that deformed stick figure for a cover on Figment? Yeah. Example A of my artistry).

    Congrats on getting asked out for the first time! That’s so sweet. 🙂 And I agree about the not knowing people thing; I prefer already being friends with a guy before going out on a date with him, rather than the other way around.

Leave a Reply

