BEDA Day 7: Things I’m Into (Or, Raising Awareness for LBD)

And by LBD, I mean neither ‘Little Black Dress’ nor some for-the-greater good cause.

I’m talking about a web series.

But we’ll get to that in a minute. It’s Tuesday! I’m enjoying art camp so far – or, rather, I’m assuming I am, since it’s still actually Sunday while I write this and I’m not actually at art camp yet. 😛

I’m also assuming that I’m very tired and it’s only going to get worse from here on out. (And here’s to hoping that my roommate is awesome and not, like, 11. Not that awesome 11 year olds don’t exist, but it would be nice if we’re the same age.)

So this blog post is completely unoriginal, but to be fair, I am not actually stealing it directly from Ari. I’ve been wanting to do this for a while now…

 

Kidding.

Anyway, this is a post about things I currently enjoy. Please try not to fall asleep. There will be a quiz.

Portal 2

My friend Megan finally got me to buy Portal 2, and it’s not even funny how much I love this game. I haven’t had a lot of time to play it in the past week or so, but when I was in Florida I played it daily. It’s probably the most enjoyable video game I’ve ever played. It goes beyond the puzzles; it’s the plotting, the character development, the genuine humor of it all, while still maintaining an ominous feel… It’s challenging and interesting and addicting. And if you have the opportunity, play it. Gosh.

Murdoch Mysteries

I am not ashamed to admit that my grandma got me into this show. Something I haven’t mentioned before is how much I’m into murder mysteries. Like, I watch almost exclusively shows that involve somebody being dead in the first five minutes. (Exceptions include Downton Abbey, Top Gear – mostly, Phineas and Ferb, and the Dick Van Dyke show.) Murdoch combines murder mysteries with two other things I enjoy: the Victorian Era and Canada.

Okay, admittedly, I’m not a Canada fangirl. I don’t dislike Canada, I’m just not ridiculously enthused with it. I am apathetic towards Canada. Apologies. (Self restraint exercised here in not posting the Canada song.)

Anyway. Murdoch is great and the characters are lovable and Murdoch himself is Catholic, so triple-win. (Except he doesn’t really act Catholic – there are a bunch of things he does that makes me frown and go, “Yeah, these writers have no idea what actual Catholics act like.” But regardless.) The show also features one of my (many) OTPs. (Hero’s motto: if it breathes, I ship it.)

OTP are the two on the far right ❤

 

The Dick Van Dyke Show

I’m sorry, but the Dick Van Dyke show is seriously the greatest program available on Netflix. Sure, it’s cheesy sometimes, but it’s adorable, funny, and it’s Dick Van Dyke. Seriously. Just go watch it.

 

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

Last, but very certainly not least, the Lizzie Bennet Diaries. A friend of mine just informed me that I got him addicted to them and I regard this as a HUGE SUCCESS! If you haven’t gone and watched these yet, you are missing out. The Lizzie Bennet Diaries (or LBD) are a modern day adaptation of Pride and Prejudice done in a vlog format. They’re hilarious, creative, thought-provoking (from a literary standpoint), and just awesome.

Here’s the first episode:

Well, I’ll stop wasting your time now and let you go watch the entire series. Go on. Shoo.

(But seriously: for the series to continue, it needs to have enough viewers to fund the project, which means you all need to go watch them because they’re just too amazing not to keep going.)

Hope you’re having a great week!

~Hero
No update because I’m at camp creating ART. YEAH.

2 comments on “BEDA Day 7: Things I’m Into (Or, Raising Awareness for LBD)

  1. Quick notes before I go off and write a post…

    — The Dick Van Dyke Show is one of the greatest things to ever grace this planet. Rob is one of my favorite characters, as is Sally. I adore Sally.

    — The Lizzie Bennet Diaries is (are?) the bane of my existence. (Well, that and WebMD.) They’re totally and completely awesome, but they’re so awesome that I’ve become addicted. *excessive headdesk* (Get it? Get it? Please tell me someone got that…)

Leave a Reply

