BEDA Day 1: In Which Hero Attempts to Become Massively Productive Instantaneously

Good morning, interwebs! Not only am I posting on time today, I’m posting early! Will wonders never cease?

The reason I’m posting so early is because I have a jam-packed day ahead of me. Actually, make that a jam packed month. Why? Because not only am I going to do BEDA, I’m also going to take another shot at Camp NaNoWriMo, and… Well, I’ll just skip to my resolutions and let you figure it out for yourselves.

August Resolutions!

1. Practice my cello daily.

Obviously, I didn’t have my cello with me in Florida, so I’ve fallen out of the swing of practicing every day. My cello is really important to me, not to mention that my orchestra season is coming up, so I need to practice.

2. Work out! (Daily.)

Like so many other nerds, I live a sedentary life. I work on the computer, play on the computer, play an instrument that requires you to be seated, when I have free time I watch TV (sitting down) or I sleep. Which is completely unhealthy and probably the reason I continue to gain weight despite the fact that I regularly forget to eat. (I’m not hungry, okay? Aaaand I snack all day. The apple pie at 3:00 was yesterday’s dinner. Promise.) So my goal is to actually get up and exercise for 45 minutes every day. Take a break from the screens, and go jump rope, or run on the elliptical, or maybe do an exercise video. As long as I’m up and moving (grocery shopping/library perusing doesn’t count).

3. Study Algebra for 30 minutes every day.

My SAT and PSAT scores were high, but the reason I get spam from colleges is because my English skills made up for my lacking math skills. Not that my math is awful – it’s still above average (yay, homeschooling), but not by a lot, and if I want to get my scores up to where I’d like them to be, I need to put myself through a self inflicted Algebra boot camp. It’s almost embarrassing how bad I am at functions. Seriously.

4. Write every day: for 45 minutes, or until daily wordcount is reached.

I didn’t write for the entire month of July, which is awful. I am a writer! I need to write! For the past couple days I kept imagining my twelve-year-old self looking at me and going, “I’m working so hard and my writing is awful. I don’t even have a chance. You’re good – you can get published, you can reach our dream. And you’re not even trying.” Twelve-year-old me is right! (For once. Twelve-year-old me was a complete brat, so I don’t know why I’m doing her any favors.) That’s why I’m doing Camp NaNoWriMo this month. I need to write every day. That’s what writer’s do, and I am a writer.

I’m going to be really busy this month. But it’s all in keeping with trying to get me off the computer and turn off the TV and be productive. I know it’s a lot to keep track of, so I’m employing these handy-dandy charts:

That’s right! Don’t Break The Chain charts! I’ll make sure to update you throughout the month with photos of them, so you know I’m not lying about my accomplishments. 😉

As always, the resolutions idea comes from comes from the lovely Kelli Taylor at She Learns As She Goes.

Well, I’m off! I have to eat breakfast and then break out my cello. Rosin’s gonna fly, baby. 😛

~Hero

Cello: Not yet completed.
Algebra: Not yet completed.
Exercise: Not yet completed.
Camp NaNo wordcount: 0

9 comments on “BEDA Day 1: In Which Hero Attempts to Become Massively Productive Instantaneously

  1. I wrote a cello short story about a week ago– it’ll be posted soon. And yes, it’s complimentary; it gives the impression that cellists are these fantastical musicians with awesome otherworldly skills. No derisive statements through the whole thing. I’m trying to reconcile myself a little bit.
    Other than that, I finished The Last Guardian (AF). It was awesome. Though I don’t know why Colfer likes resurrection so much. It would be so much better if all those characters he killed off through the series had just died. Except Holly in book five. That was heartbreaking.

  2. Rachel R. says:

    Stick to it Hero! You can do it!

  3. Quinn says:

    Salutations, Hero. I just discovered your blog through clicking a link on She Learns as She Goes. I read a few of your posts, immensely enjoyed them, and also realized that we are so alike it’s kind of freaking me out. If you substitute cello for violin we pretty much do all of the same activities, are the same age, and seem to have the same general world views. I just thought that I would share this with you. Your blog is great by the way, good job.

    • Hero says:

      Oh, thank you so much! That’s incredibly nice of you to say, thank you, thank you. You’ve completely made my day! 🙂 God bless! x

  4. Quinn says:

    You’re welcome! You got a new follower today 🙂

  5. Suzanne says:

    Hey there, i linked to your blog via She Learns as She Goes too. I did very much enjoy your creative posting, and I hope that your goals come smoothly to you! 🙂

  6. Julie says:

    Do you have the Don’t break the chain papers with all the months on? 🙂

    • Hero says:

      Like, ones that I’ve kept since this post? No — I got about halfway through August and then quit. 😛 But if you’re talking about the originals, they should be in this post somewhere.

Leave a Reply

