Bonus Post: AIRPORT BLOG (or why Hero is a terrorist)

So, I’m at the airport and I have about an hour before our flight leaves. The evil bookstore here in the airport DOES NOT HAVE the new Artemis Fowl book that’s out today (infuriatingly), so I figured I would use the time to tell you a story about how I am a terrorist. (Calm yourselves. I’m not actually a terrorist. For one, I’m way too white to be a terrorist. Also too fifteen and too Catholic. Moving on.)

[Quick note before I move on: the woman next to me at the airport is reading 50 Shades of Grey. *kills things* Also note that the evil bookstore had about 5,000 copies of that, but not one Artemis Fowl book. LOGIC CHECK PLEASE.]

Anyway: let’s set the scene. In the foyer of my house this morning. It’s raining outside, we have all our luggage by the front door, and Dad is running through some pre-flight checks.

He asks, “Do you have any weapons in your bags?”

Brother makes a joke about a gun. I remember my pocketknife. “Oh!” I say. “I have a pocketknife in my purse I need to take out.” Dad tells me to put it in my checked luggage, but I tell him I don’t need it so I’ll just leave it at home. Stupidly, I decide to run to the bathroom before taking it out. I promptly forget about it.

Cut to: airport security.

I’m sure you can see where this is going. I got busted for having a knife in my purse and Dad had to carry it out to the car while we waited by the security. It took him ten minutes to go out to the car, come back, and go through security again. The whole time I was just waiting for him to get through and chew me out, but thank goodness my father is nothing like my mother. If I’d been with Mom, I’d still be hearing about it as I write this. (Which reminds me: those of you who know me IRL and also know my mother – NOT ONE WORD OF THIS TO HER. NOT. ONE. WORD. She will flip out.)

Anyway, I think I might go on an adventure through the airport in search of an alternative to the evil bookstore. (Or I’ll just wait until we get to Florida. *sigh*) Have a great day! Expect a post tomorrow – last night I could hardly sleep, I was so bombarded with blog post ideas.

I was thinking about doing BEDA (Blog Every Day August) in, obviously, August. What do y’all think?

Pray for me that the rest of this trip is uneventful! 😛

x
Hero

10 comments on “Bonus Post: AIRPORT BLOG (or why Hero is a terrorist)

  1. Julia Byers says:

    Oh, so you and Tatiana are in cahoots now, eh? 😉

  2. Rachel R. says:

    So that’s the whole story. Sounds like something I would do………..only it would probably be my dad who would chew me out, not my mom……..

  3. You have an experience like that, then pray for an uneventful trip? Talk about skewed logic.
    If you decide to do BEDA, I’d probably do CEDA (Comment Every Day August). Are you doing Camp at the same time? That might be difficult.

    • Hero says:

      I haven’t decided yet: I’m definitely going to TRY and write in August, but if I do, I’ll only try and finish my 50,000 from June.

      • Ah, I see. Wouldn’t that be cheating, though? You’re writing some of the 50k prior to the beginning of August. I won’t tell anyone, however.

        • Hero says:

          Yeah, yeah, whatever. The point is to get words out of my head and onto paper – as long as I’m writing, I don’t mind cheating. 😉

          • So NaNoWriMo is just one big game to you, huh? You enjoy playing around with the hopes and dreams of other people? Some people depend on this to put a little bit of interest into their lives! You’re tarnishing the reputation of NaNoWriMo! I leave… in a huff!

            Just kidding. But still… *glares*

  4. Aspirer says:

    JMJ+AMDG
    ^ I applaud you for spelling that NaNoWriMo thing correctly. 😀 Oh, and, Hero, I’m sorry!! 😛
    ~Sami (Aspirer)

Leave a Reply

