Eoin and a Polka Dot, Polka Dot, Polka Dot…

Hi guys! So I know it’s late but you know what? It’s STILL WEDNESDAY. In my book, that means I win. I’m exhausted – I spent the day with Sunny and Elinor and Shmelllllen…. (Dearest Shmella: please don’t kill me. You know I think you’re the greatest human being on this planet. That fact, however, will not stop me from calling you Shmellen and all variants of it. :P) They all sunbathed and I acted like the vampire that I am – at one point in the day the girls tried to get me to lie out in the grass with them, saying stuff like, “It’s so warm!” “It feels so good!” and I, without thinking, replied, “No! It burrrrns!” It really was making my face sting, I’m not making this up. (Augh! The hideous light of the day star!)

Because I’m so tired, I’m not going to have a super in depth post today – I’m going to give you an excerpt from my NaNo novel (it’s from Eoin’s first chapter – I love him so much!) and then leave you with a video.

But first…! As you know, I had my orchestra audition on Saturday, and I got an email yesterday telling me that I MADE IT IN!!! I didn’t make the level I wanted to, but I still did pretty dang well, and this orchestra is really hard to get into, so I’m just really excited and really proud of myself that I did it. 🙂

Alright, here’s the excerpt. Enjoy!

“Who’s next?” Eoin called, pushing his hair back from his sweaty forehead. He looked expectantly down the line of boys, who started jostling each other. Malcolm shoved Angus forward, who in turn dragged Callum away from the fence and toward Eoin. Callum aimed a kick at him, which Angus dodged, staggering into Hamish.

Eoin rolled his eyes. As a Senior Initiate, it was his job to assist the lower level Initiates in their training, in addition to his Assignment as castle guard. Every morning he woke up and made his way down to the training field, where he sparred with a group of red levels (the white levels weren’t advanced enough to go up against him – he found himself destroying them, even when he tried to hold back). After a few hours he would head up to the Initiates’ dormitories and sleep until sundown. Rhys would bring him leftovers from dinner, and Eoin would drag himself out of bed to work the night shift, patrolling up on the castle walls.

It was a tiring routine, but Eoin enjoyed it – and no matter how tired he was, he never had any trouble beating the snot out of his group of boys. (Of course, sometimes he had bad days, during which the boys never hesitated to gleefully beat the snot out of him. The system worked well.)

Hamish elbowed Angus. “Shove off, you cretin.” He shook out his wrist and grabbed his sword. “I’ll go.”

Eoin grinned. “Excellent.” Hamish had recently decided it would be a good idea to nick Eoin’s armor and hide it in the stables, where Eoin had found it later, covered in poo. He was looking forward to enacting revenge upon the little twerp.

He twirled his sword in his hand and waited for Hamish to take his stance. Once the boy was in position, Eoin raised his sword arm. “Ready?”

Hamish nodded.

“Begin!”

The blonde boy shot forward, swinging his sword in a sideways slice aimed at Eoin’s ribs. Eoin ducked and stabbed forward, forcing Hamish to sidestep the blow. Hamish directed an overzealous blow toward Eoin’s back, which Eoin twisted up to block. Hamish jumped back slightly, resting on the balls of his feet as he waited for Eoin’s next move.

The boy’s stance reminded Eoin of how Caerwyn stood when she was fighting. Easy to knock over, sure, but light enough on her feet that you would never have the opportunity. The girl was a natural with a sword, and so graceful…

Distractedly, Eoin jabbed at Hamish. Hamish easily blocked him and advanced, fiercely. Eoin was thrown and staggered backward. He yanked his attention from the brown-haired girl who constantly occupied his thoughts and focused back on the fight. Just in time, he noticed a hole in Hamish’s defense and stabbed at it. Hamish anticipated Eoin’s move and brought down the hilt of his sword on Eoin’s shoulder (head shots were against the rules). Cursing, Eoin charged the boy, hoping to knock him off balance.

No such luck – Hamish dug his heels in at exactly the right moment, and Eoin couldn’t budge him. Eoin’s shoulder throbbed and he swore to himself that if he lost this fight, he would have to hide spiders in Hamish’s bed for the next week.

Thankfully, Hamish made a mistake. He lifted his sword above his head in order to swing downward at Eoin, leaving his stomach exposed. Eoin jabbed him, harder than necessary. He had won, but only barely.

A shout of anguish went up from the rest of the boys. “C’mon, Hamish!”

“Like you could do better,” he shot back. He let his arms fall, sword tip bouncing against the ground. He raised an eyebrow at Eoin. “That was sloppy. Got your head in the clouds again?”

“I’ll tell what’s sloppy and what’s not, thanks,” Eoin snapped. “Lest you forget, I just smeared your sorry behind all over this field.”

Hamish stuck out his tongue and joined the other boys on the fence, hoisting himself up on the rails. “Barely.”

Eoin smacked him over the head with the flat side of his sword. “Shut your face, Hamish.”

Angus grinned, wickedly. “I know what it was,” he said, crossing his arms and fixing his gaze on Eoin. “He was thinking about Lady Caerwyn.”

Eoin found himself blushing against his will. “Don’t be stupid. I wasn’t thinking about anyone, I was just distracted by Hamish’s fat head.”

The other boys had a laugh at Hamish’s expense, but quickly turned the brunt of their teasing back to Eoin. “So you were thinking about her!” Malcolm cried, accusingly. “Don’t lie.”

“I’m not – ” Eoin started, but Callum interrupted him.

“Worried, lover boy?” he asked, raising an eyebrow. “She’s getting her Assignment this morning, you know.”

Eoin shook the thought of Caerwyn from his head. “I’m not worried,” he said (a lie, and a blatant one at that). “Lady Caerwyn is a competent initiate who can take care of herself. She’ll be fine.”

Before I go: I want to do a blog post maybe this weekend or next week in which I answer a bunch of questions from you guys, so if you have anything you want to ask me or just want my opinion on or whatever, leave them in comments! And if you’ve been hanging around reading and not commenting, please do leave a comment – it doesn’t have to be long, but reading them really does make my day, I really appreciate them. 🙂

I leave you with this. You’re welcome. (If you listen to the whole thing, you win serious points. I think this is hilarious, but it gets really annoying, really fast.)

Hahaha. Have fun with that stuck in your head for the rest of your life. 😀

Love you, too!

~Hero

30 comments on “Eoin and a Polka Dot, Polka Dot, Polka Dot…

  1. Julia Byers says:

    EOIN!!! ❤ I'm about to be such a total fangirl about this, just letting you know.

    Ummm…. hmmm… questions… ummmm…… I guess… well… What do you want to major in at college? (I know. Two years away. Dumb question. It's 11 o'clock and I just took a bunch of placement tests for freshman year, and all I can think about right now is college. Sorry.)

  2. Rachel R. says:

    Man, I thought I wasn’t a girl to love a fictional character, but Eoin might be an exception……….

    Congrats on the audition Hero! I knew you could do it! 😀

    • Hero says:

      I HAVE BROKEN HER! VICTORY! Eoin is just the greatest. “I was just distracted by Hamish’s fat head.” xD I hate to toot my own horn, but I want that on a t-shirt. 😛

      And thanks. 🙂

      • Rachel R. says:

        I said might. might. 😉

        • Hero says:

          Don’t even. I have won you over.

          And Rachel, do you have any questions you’re DYING to ask me? 😛

          • Rachel R. says:

            No you haven’t. You haven’t officially won me over until I read your whole story and decide then. *crosses arms matter-of-factly*

            hm….question………….uh……………let me think………..something other than your book……………………………….don’t have any. sorry. 😦

  3. Nick says:

    Hero… You know you’re Smeagol, right? You hate the SUN?? 😛

    You’re gonna have to have this book published… you know?

  4. elinormarie says:

    We had a glorious time, I know! 🙂 I know I was annoying you when I kept saying how WONDERFUL and warm it was! But, when haven’t I been annoying?? 😉 BUT I really loved seeing you!! It was beyond awesome Hero. You’re an amazing cello player, too, and thank you for the private concert! Beyond cool!

    Oh, my gosh, Eoin and Caerwyn are perfect for each other **preppy voice**. I loved the excerpt. Can’t wait to read the rest. And by the way, I’m glad you held your part of the deal. (writing deal). Because I didn’t **hides face in shame**

    That song is really super annoying 😉 Haha but I deserve it for bringing it up in the first place! XD

    Peace,

    Elinor

  5. Morgann says:

    Thanks to you Hero I will always have that song stuck in my head!!!
    By the way love everything you have so far in your book, I especially love Eoin and Caerwyn!!!!!!

  6. thelooker23 says:

    :O I CALL ONE OF MY FRIENDS SHMELLEN, TOO!!!! :O :O :O *high five*
    Sorry I haven’t seen your blog before; I didn’t know it was youuuuu 😛 I just thought it was someone LIKE you 😛
    And haha, the video won’t load on my computer XP Bwahahahaa I will not be sucked into the insanity.

    • Hero says:

      How could you?? I AM ONE OF A KIND! *bawls*

      Kidding. 😛 It’s so awesome to see you here! ❤

      • thelooker23 says:

        XP Haha, I just put SHM in front of a lot of people’s names (my friend Ellen included, so she is Shmellen :P)
        It’s fun to be here! 🙂 We can say “y’all” here all the time, riiiiiiight??? 😛

        • Hero says:

          So am I Shmero? xD

          WRONG. THE DOOR IS THAT WAY. USING ‘Y’ALL’ GETS YOU A ONE WAY TICKET THROUGH IT.

          *goes and scours posts to make sure there are no ‘y’all’s present*

          • thelooker23 says:

            Yup. You’re Shmero 😛
            BWAHAHAHAHAAAAA…I locked the door. 😛
            Y’ALL Y’ALL Y’ALL Y’ALL Y’AAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
            *evil laugh*

  7. The excerpt is good. The vocabulary is a bit more– I don’t know how to describe it– uncouth? than I’d like. Words and expressions such as “beating the snot out of him…”, “poo”, and things like that. Personally, I try to stay away from such words, even if I use the same concepts.
    Other than that, it’s very good. It’s obvious that you enjoy writing for Eoin, and you have big plans for him and Caerwyn. (Question: are they Welsh?)

    • Hero says:

      Thanks. The vocabulary is rougher, yeah, because this is from Eoin’s POV and he’s a little bit less civilized that Caerwyn. 😛

      They’re in a made up kingdom, but I imagine it in sort of a Gaelic setting.

  8. You made it in?!

    HEROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! *tackle hug* Congratulations! Congratulattes! Congratulotions!

  9. wow. this post has 19 comments o_o. Now I feel part of something huge xD. jkjk. Just wanted to say congratulations on making the orchestra :). Auditions are never easy (or at least, for me they aren’t – I always get all sweaty and nervous and I end up sounding like a squeaky amateur), and I’m glad you did well. From the excerpts you’ve posted up here, your nanowrimo project seems quite interesting. Do you plan to post the whole thing up somewhere? It’s just, if you are planning to unleash such awesomeness onto the internet, I’d love to read it x). And hmm… question… err. What is the weirdest situation you’ve ever been in?

    • Hero says:

      Lol! It only has 19 comments because I’ve been replying to everything. 😛

      Anyway, thanks for checking out the blog! And yeah, auditions are terrifying – out of curiosity, what instrument do you play?

      It depends on how this turns out. I usually plan on editing and querying my novels, so I’m probably not going to release it on the internet. However, I am editing another novel of mine that I might put up as, like, a 99 cent eBook on Amazon… *shrugs* We’ll see.

  10. Okay. It’s probably annoying for me to reply to this comment now, when you have two new posts up and it’s been two days. But I just didn’t see the comment and I like replying to things. So apologies if this is irritating. 1. Your blog is cool :), so don’t thank me for checking it out. It’s always a pleasure to read your posts ^^. 2. I play the cello as well xD. That’s how I found your blog – you have a lot of posts tagged as “cello” 3. If you do plan to publish a novel on Amazon, I’d love to read it! : D. Do you have a fanfiction account or anything? (Okay this is the point where you’re probably going to think I’m a stalker. So I’ll just clarify – I’m not some creepy stalker or anything. I just like reading stuff and when I find authors I like I tend to try searching for their other works. Nothing creepy there xD).

    • Hero says:

      No, that’s okay! Maybe if I get a gazillion comments on this one post, everyone will think I’m this super popular, fabulous blogger… 😛 1. Thank you! That’s very kind of you to say. 2. Really? AWESOME! It’s always great to see another cellist. 🙂 3. I don’t have a fanfiction account (because all the fanfiction I ever write tends to be ridiculously sappy romance between myself and Artemis Fowl – I am not proud of this), but I did have a Figment account for a little while: I don’t update it any more, but if you do want to read a couple of my short stories, you can check it out. http://figment.com/users/21480-Scylla

      • Hahahaha. Well, I’m glad I can contribute to this building of your awesome reputation :D. And what’s this? :O. You play cello AND read Artemis Fowl? This is incredible. Artemis Fowl is by far my most favourite series ever. It even beats Harry Potter (which is saying something, considering I love HP to bits). I’ve read the entire series 3 times, and I love love love Arty to the point of obsession. He’s amazing :). And so is Holly Short (she’s definitely my favourite female, though I do have this soft spot for Opal and her narcissistic tendencies). Thanks for your figment account link. I shall read it and rant over how amazing it is :).

        • Hero says:

          OH MY GOODNESS HOW ARE WE NOT BEST FRIENDS???? I have every AF book to date in like, a shrine on the top of my bookshelf… I adore him! Goodness! This is incredible! 😀

          Oh, thank you! It’s really not that great, trust me. 😛

          • :O. I have every book as well! I even have the first and last two books signed by Eoin himself! : DD. I love the entire series so so much :333. One time I had to make a 20 min presentation about my favourite book, and I ended up making a 2 hour long presentation on how amazing Artemis Fowl was – I just couldn’t resist! I got most of my friends to start reading hahahaha. I just love the characters. And oh, how could I forget Mulch? I adore Mulch as well ❤ And I've already started reading some of your stuff. It's all great so far :P.

          • I was quite proud of myself when one of my friends said I reminded her of Artemis Fowl… Of course, one of the reasons was because of conceit and morbid tendencies. I was considerably less thrilled after hearing that.

Leave a Reply

