Caerwyn Bio [Part 1]

So, I’m really, really excited about Camp NaNo. Like, really excited. I’m so excited about my novel idea and my characters… I’m thinking about it 24/7. (You know, when I’m not freaking out about my cello audition… But that’s a given.)

Proof:

Those are my Theology of the Body notes from Sunday, on which I doodled my four main characters in profile. (Rhys was more difficult than the others, lol.) Serafina (the girl with the huge fuzzy hair) is the bad guy – I’m considering changing her name, because the other characters are Caerwyn, Eoin, and Rhys… Gaelic name, Gaelic name, Gaelic name, and then a name that sounds like it came out of a Barbie movie. Suggestions welcome, leave them in comments.

Anyway, because I’m so excited, I am going to devote my blog posts from now until June to revealing bits and pieces of my novel. Starting today with my protagonist’s character biography! It’s rather long, so I’m going to split it into two posts. Apologies for how scattered this is – it only really has to make sense to me, so I tend to write the way I think… In short, fragmental bursts.

Name: Caerwyn (currently last-name-less)

Age: 17

Gender: Female

Appearance: Very tall and muscular, but not overly so. Has defined muscles, but not bulging. Long wavy brown hair, tied back with a white ribbon. Brown eyes that glow with a silver aura when she performs magic. Not really tan, but not super pale either. A few freckles.

Height: 5’10”

Strange or unique physical characteristics: Stronger than she looks, terrible singing voice unless she’s using her magic.

Favorite clothing style/outfit: Loose tunic and breeches for training, or official uniform when on duty. Anything but the gown she’s forced to wear for galas.

Where does she live? Eildur Castle.

What is it like?  – Eildur Castle is the capitol of the kingdom – the city & castle walls are built of white stone. The streets are bustling and safe. The only unsavory part of the city are the dungeons… Unfortunately, that’s where Caerwyn spends most of her time.

Defining gestures: Punctuates her sentences with hand motions, chews her lip when she’s thinking, curls and uncurls fingers before performing a spell (focusing on the rhythm of her hands clears her mind)

Speaking style: Tends to be more thoughtful. She’s short and to the point, unless she’s with her friends.

Pet peeves: Arrogance. She knows that a true knight is humble, so the jerk initiates get on her nerves. Also ignorance.

Fondest memory: Her father giving her her first sword during the initiation ceremony.

Hobbies/Interests: Swordplay, juggling, going down to the tavern with her friends, dancing.

Special skills/abilities: Magic, for one. She’s a fast learner and a good listener.

Insecurities: She worries that she won’t make full knight, that she’s not good enough to hold back the princess, and on the rare occasions that she wants to feel pretty, she doesn’t.

Quirks: Mind is quietest before a fight. Thinks better if she’s doing something with her hands.

Temperament: Not shy, but not outgoing either. Everyone knows her, but she counts very few as her friends.

Negative traits: Lets her anger and emotions build up inside of her until it all comes out in one explosive outburst.

Things that upset her: Disappointing her superiors, feeling inadequate.

Things that embarrass her: Screwing up a drill or screwing up on the job. Also waking up and realizing how drunk she was the night prior. 😉

This character is highly opinionated about: DUTY.

Any phobias? Not anything major.

Things that make her happy: Being with her friends, accomplishment.

Family: Mother and Father are nobles from an outlying kingdom. Always taught Caerwyn that she could be anything she wanted in life – didn’t expect her to run off and become a knight.

Deepest darkest secret: Serafina terrifies her. She still has nightmares about the ‘incident’.

Reason she has kept this secret for so long: She’s afraid that she will be removed from her post and deemed unworthy for full knighthood.

And that’s it for now. I’ll post the second half on Sunday.

In other news, I crashed my bike yesterday, but I’m okay aside from some bruises and a sprain in my neck. C’est la vie. See, Nick, this is why I don’t exercise. It’s dangerous!

~Hero

9 comments on “Caerwyn Bio [Part 1]

  1. Julia Byers says:

    A sprain in your neck does NOT sound like an “okay aside from” kind of thing. 😛 Are you alright? Do you have to wear a brace?

    • Hero says:

      No, my neck just hurts and yeah… It might not be an actual sprain, just a pulled muscle or something… It’s really bothering me today, so if it doesn’t go away by tomorrow, I’ll go see a doctor or something.

      Lol! That reminds me, last night I was at a party and my friend Essie’s older brother (backstory: their dad is a pediatrician) was like, “You should see a doctor about that. IF ONLY WE KNEW A DOCTOR. WHO HAS A SPECIALITY IN DEALING WITH CHILDREN.” It was pretty funny.

  2. greentea1398 says:

    WOW, you doodles of charaters are WAY better than mine.
    ~Jess~
    P.S. I’m from Write-It if you don’t remember me. Sorry to just pop up, I was just looking at Julia’s blog and blindly stumbled on to yours. 🙂

    • Hero says:

      Thanks! I have another sketch of Caerwyn that’s actually, y’know, good, but my scanner is being a jerk and yeahhh… And of course I know who you are, Jess! I’m not so busy that I forget my Write It homies! xD

  3. Rachel R. says:

    Can you post Serafina’s bio soon? otherwise, I’ll blank on new names for her……..

Leave a Reply

